RSS

Challenge #7/ Paper Players

18 Jul

Today I wanted to try my hand at my very first Card Sketch. My choice was Challenge #7 from Always Playing with Paper. Click on the link  and check out all the other beautiful cards created by talented cardmakers!

I chose to use one of my favorite color combinations, using the Rich Razzleberry from Stampin’ Up and Swiss Dotted Light Pink from Bazzill.

In creating this card challenge, I have used the “Elements of Style” and “Well Scripted” stamps sets, metallic eyelets and the satin ribbon in Rich Razzleberry from Stampin’ Up. I have used an AquaPen to handpaint the stamped image (I have used Staz On ink in Jet Black to minimize the ink bleeding). It doesn’t really show in the photo, but I have added shimmer paints to the stamped image, using Pearl Ex Watercolor CD Series. The oval sentiment was stamped in Vivid Ink in Rich Cocoa, then I have added two self-adhesive jewels and some Clear Stardust glitter to the border of the oval. I have added a Whisper White insert inside the card, after rounding off the corners and decorating it with the Flourish from the “Elements of Style” set. Same flourish is decorating the white envelope that accompanied the card.

It was an interesting challenge for me (I don’t do well with sketches/challenges…. lol), but I actually like how it turned out 🙂

Thank you for stopping by; I hope you’ll let me know what you think 🙂

 

Materials used:

Stamps: Elements of Style, Well Scripted (Stampin’ Up)
Paper: Rich Razzleberry, Whisper White (Stampin’ Up); Swiss Dotted in Pink (Bazzill)
Inks: Jet Black (StazOn); Rich Cocoa (Vivid); Rich Razzleberry, Always Artichoke (Stampin’ Up), Pearl Ex Watercolor Metallics (Jacquard)
Extras: Tape (Scor Pal), Rich Razzleberry satin ribbon (Stampin’ Up); metallic eyelets (Stampin’ Up); paper piercer; Cuttlebug dies, self-adhesive jewels.
 
9 Comments

Posted by on July 18, 2010 in Cards, Challenges

 

Tags: , ,

9 responses to “Challenge #7/ Paper Players

  1. LeAnne

    July 22, 2010 at 9:10 am

    Just beautiful!

     
  2. jaydee

    July 21, 2010 at 8:16 am

    Ankhs, I am so pleased you decided to play along with the Paper Players for your first sketch. The triptych effect is beautiful with this stamp set. Your colors – and your coloring – are fabulous
    All round, a very elegant and beautiful card.
    thanks for joining the Paper Players and I can’t wait to see what you come up with next week 🙂
    hugs
    jaydee

     
    • Ankhs

      July 22, 2010 at 8:40 am

      Thank you, Jaydee! I hope I’ll have time to play next week, as well (if they won’t have us work too many hours… lol)
      hugs

       
  3. Marlene Peters

    July 20, 2010 at 10:44 am

    I love how you divided your main image into 3 sections. It has such a neat effect.

     
    • Ankhs

      July 22, 2010 at 8:41 am

      I always wanted to try creating a card with three panels, and this was the perfect opportunity!

       
  4. Dianna Petry

    July 18, 2010 at 9:49 pm

    Ankhs, this is so beautiful. Your talent never ceases to amaze me. You have a perfect eye for color and patterns. The satin ribbon adds the perfect touch!

    Dianna

     
    • Ankhs

      July 22, 2010 at 8:42 am

      Thank you, Dianna – you always know just what to say to make my soul smile!

       
  5. Lesley

    July 18, 2010 at 12:18 pm

    Hi there Ankhs! Love what you did with the sketch, it looks to pretty! I have my eye on that satin ribbon! Thank you for joining us at Always Playing with Paper!
    Smiles,
    Lesley 🙂

     
    • Ankhs

      July 22, 2010 at 8:43 am

      Thank you much, Lesley! I absolutely love those satin ribbon – I wish SU had them in more colors and widths 😀

       

Leave a comment