RSS

Deepest Sympathy card

22 Apr

    Hello there!

    As I am quietly enjoying the first day of my 4 day weekend, drinking enough coffee that I’ve lost count and listening to one of the softer Plumb CDs, “Blink, I’ve decided to create a sympathy card. Maybe it was the music, maybe knowing that things are not going quite OK at my Toyota-owned plant, or maybe just because a nurse at work lost someone very close to her and asked me if I had any sympathy cards ready (I did not at the time…)…

    The result is the card posted on the left. My inspiration? A wonderful blog I have only recently – and by accident – discovered, Stamp and Scrap with Frenchie. She called her technique Belle Toile and soft brayer background, and if you feel crafty, go ahead and give it a try! She has a video link on the page and even a brayer novice like me was able to do it easily (I will NOT mention the inky mess on the craft sheet or my hands… lol)

    I will admit, I am not the most daring stamper when I first try a new technique; I am following the colors as closely as possible which gives me a better understanding of what works best – then I go my own way. However, I’ve realized that although I own hundreds of stamps (one can never have too many stamps, ink pads or Designer Paper, can they…?), I do not own Belle Toile. Of course, this gorgeous stamp is my next order as of now. So I had to improvise…

SUPPLIES: Stamp: French Flair set (retired); Inks: Chocolate Chip (#100908), Old Olive (#102277), Mellow Moss (sadly, a beautiful though retired color), Champagne Mist Shimmer Paint (#116806); Cardstock: Chocolate Chip (#102128), Always Artichoke (#119971), River Rock (#119944), Very Vanilla (#119951); Punch: Ticket Corner Punch (#119867); Snail Adhesive (#104332); 1 1/4″ Striped Grossgrain Ribbon in Chocolate Chip (#115617, available in the Clearance Rack)

Feel creative yet? Why not stop by a place an order on my website and make something that is uniquely YOU!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 22, 2011 in Cards, Stampin' Up, Thoughts

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
