RSS

Creative Sketches CS34H Holiday/Celebration

27 May

   This this week’s sketch at Creative Sketches required us to combine a Holiday/Celebration with the provided sketch. A bit novel for me – again – but after printing the sketch and digging through my many, many stamp sets, I chose to use one of my latest Stampin’ Up acquisitions, the Flower Garden embossing folder. So I started listening to my “Secret Garden” CD and got to work… LOL…

CS34H challenge

   I have used Watercolor paper, because I wanted to color the image. The first results were very, very far from good… What is a gal to do at 12:15am…? I dumped my first try, grabbed another panel of Watercolor paper, my Perfect Pearls Metallics powders and medium from Ranger and pounced and brushed the powders on the second embossed panel… I have used Perfect Pearl, Gold and Bronze to add some depth to my embossed flower. The sentiment is from Waltzingmouse Stamps  Fancy Phrases set. The Old Gold accent mat cardstock used on the image and sentiment is from the “Elegant Metallics” paper pad from Martha Stewart. The bling is Clear Crystal Stickers from Mark Richard’s.

   Supplies used are Stampin’ Up, unless stated otherwise: Cardstock Whisper White #100730, Watercolor paper #105019, Flower Garden folder #123113, Big Shot #113439 (Stampin’ Up); Fancy Phrases (Waltzingmouse Stamps); Perfect Pearls Metallics (Ranger Ink); self-adhesive clear rhinestones (Mark Richards); Ink VersaFine Onyx Black (Tsukineko); Scor-tape.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Creative Sketches CS34H Holiday/Celebration

  1. Jules

    May 29, 2011 at 9:00 am

    I think that you did a marvelous job, Ankhs. The soft colors and the blending of the watercolors with the stamp are perfect. You did another fantstic job, hun. Now, get some sleep…lol

     
  2. sharon wheet

    May 27, 2011 at 3:19 pm

    It sounded like you weren’t happy with your results? I have to say, that I LOVE how your card came out! I think the soft colors look wonderful with the texture of the watercolor paper! TFS, and thanks for entering our challenge over @ Creative Sketches!

     
    • Ankhs

      May 27, 2011 at 3:24 pm

      Sharon,
      The initial watercoloring ended up in the trash, it was that bad – so I gave up that idea, and opted for the Perfect Pearls for the finished card 🙂

       
  3. connie smith

    May 27, 2011 at 12:34 pm

    Beautiful card…love the coloring on the embossed flower!! THanks for playing along at Creative-Sketches!

     

Leave a Reply

 
