RSS

Christmas Door with Shimmer Wreath

22 Jul

I LOVE Christmas!

Ever since my childhood (and believe me, many years have passed since those times… lol), I loved Christmas. I loved that it celebrated the birth of Christ, even if growing up in a Communist country, that celebration was a private one… I loved how we helped the grown-ups decorate the Christmas trees… I loved the old-time, glass-blown ornaments that were passed down from one generation to the next – their soft shimmer and sparkle added so much beauty to the evening, especially when the candles – REAL candles – were lit under the watchful eyes of our parents and grandparents… I loved the silent falling snow… Oh, how I LOVED Christmas then and how I treasure those moments today!

Christmas Door - Wreath detailSo, I could not have been happier when an older CardMaker magazine gave a few ideas on how to create and decorate a Christmas door. Lack of time stopped me from giving it a shot – until a couple of weeks ago, when I have received an update from a blog I have been following, Stamping and Creating. I loved how she created a “frame” for her card, so I just have to CASE her card – adding a few touches of my own.

 

                         .:*:. .:*:. .:*:. .:*:. .:*:. .:*:. .:*:. .:*:. .:*:. .:*:.Christmas Door with Ribbon Wreath

I really wanted to give my take on this Christmas Door card the look of real wood, so I have used an older Sizzix Texture panel to add some wood-y details to my door’s panels, which I have enhanced by sponging each panel with Crumb Cake and Soft Suede. The wreath was created using this YouTube video Christmas Ribbon Wreath.

Already have 3 orders from my friends at work, so I will be working on those cards tonight – plus I wanted to create a card with a red Christmas door. I’m off to get some coffee and start playing. Playlist tonight is Andrea Bocelli’s CD, Romanza.

Supplies are Stampin’ Up, unless otherwise noted: Cardstock Crumb Cake #120953, Very Vanilla #101650; Ink Crumb Cake #121030, Soft Suede #115657; Embossing folders Sizzix Texturz Plates Kit #4 (now retired), Framed Tulips #121809; Glimmer Brads in Champagne #121003; Ribbon(non SU!) Burgundy 3/8″ Taffeta, Sage Grass 1/8″ Satin; Stamp Peaceful Season (Hostess set).

 
 

Tags: , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Christmas Door with Shimmer Wreath

  1. Dianna

    July 26, 2011 at 5:17 pm

    Absolutely beautiful!

     
  2. Betty

    July 22, 2011 at 3:55 pm

    Beautiful Pooh

     
    • Ankhs

      July 22, 2011 at 4:01 pm

      Thank you, Betty – it looks lots better in real life 😉

       

Leave a Reply

 
