RSS

Blue Christmas

09 Nov

     Have I ever mentioned that Christmas is my favorite holiday ever…? I often think of Christmases past, of a childhood that was so trouble-free, of the oranges and bananas that were so very rare in the Romanian markets, but that my Dad always managed to bring home at Christmas… I remember fondly the Christmas tree we were barely allowed to decorate, as my grandma was quite mindful of her heirloom glass ornaments and the real candles that made everything sparkle so softly and magically…

     Many years have passed since; my grandma and father passed away, and so did the uncle and aunt that taught us how to sing Christmas carols… I am grateful to all of them for creating such beautiful memories, that make each Christmas season a treasure to be cherished…

     As I only recently started sending handmade Christmas cards to friends and family, I try to create cards that carry those magical images of my childhood into each card I made – so everyone enjoys a bit of seasonal joy when they open an envelope…   

     What we have here is a set of three Christmas cards created on blue cardstock and layered with white and blue panels. Top panels on two cards are dry embossed and a touch of shimmer paint has been added. A third panel has been embossed with a frame panel and sponged with ink for a distressed look. The stockings have been hand stamped and glimmer paper as well as clear rhinestones have been added for an unique look. A wonderful, special set of cards to give as a gift – or use yourself this Christmas season!

     What unique memories of Christmas past do you care to share with us…? I would love to hear it, so please take a minute and leave a comment…

 
     Thank you for dropping by today!
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 9, 2011 in Cards, Christmas, handmade, Personal, Thoughts

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
