RSS

Trying my hand…

24 Dec

banana_nut

…at something new – Banana Nut bread!

As I was enjoying greatly my very first day of Christmas shutdown – a long overdue time away from work after 6 months of working 7 days a week – I have decided I should bake something. Now, baking cookies is just not something I do, as they always turn out either burned or slightly underbaked so I have decided on doing something I have never tried before – Banana Nut bread.
Ingredients:
8oz butter, softened
1 1/2 cups sugar
1 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
1 1/2 cup self-rising flour
3 eggs
1/2 tsp salt
1 cup pecans or walnuts, chopped (optional)
1/4 cup milk
3 bananas, mashed
2 tsp pure vanilla extract

Directions:
Preheat oven at 350F. Grease bottom of two loaf pans. Sift together the flours and salt. Cream the butter and sugar until smooth. Add eggs, mixing well before adding the next one. Add mashed bananas and nuts. Add dry ingredients, milk and vanilla extract. Pur the batter into loaf pans. Bake for 45-50 minutes, or until the center comes clean when a toothpick is inserted. Remove from oven, let the breads cool for about 10 minutes, then remove them from the pans. Let the banana bread cool off completely before slicing. Store them at room temperature, wrapped in plastic wrap, then in aluminum wrap to maintain moisture.

My first try turned out delicious: not too sweet, not too banana-ey and the perfect amount of pecans for my taste (though Jim is not all that font of nuts…lol).

Yep, I can see myself making this recipe again, when time allows 🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 24, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
