RSS

Summertime…

03 Feb

beach_lighthouse

    Hello, everyone!

    It has been awhile since my last post – working 6 or 7 days is draining all my energy (as well as my ability to think long enough to complete an intelligent post…lol) So, I took advantage of having a rare day off work and decided to update my blog…

    The weather here in East Tennessee has been a bit on the weird side: from temps of 72F one day straight to freezing rain and snow. So, just to keep my soul warmed, I started to think Spring and Summer, fresh green leaves and beach sand…

    The above card, “Beach Lighthouse” is one of the newest additions to my Etsy shop, and can be found here. Its summertime companions, “Beach Cabin” and “Beach Tent” can be be also viewed here and here. As most of my work, the cards were created using 14ct perforated paper, only I have used ecru colored paper this time around – it looked so much closed to sand…

    Well, I’m off now to tend to my badly swollen, sprained ankle… Hopefully, I will be able to walk by tomorrow…

 
4 Comments

Posted by on February 3, 2013 in Cards, cross-stitch, handmade, Masculine

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Summertime…

  1. Valerie

    February 3, 2013 at 9:40 pm

    I am in Georgia so I know exactly what you mean about the crazy weather! haha
    Your lighthouse is beautiful!! I would hang it on my wall! I want to learn to cross stitch this year (that’s the goal, anyway), and your cards inspire me. 😀
    Oh, and I hope your ankle feels better! :/

     
    • Ankhs

      February 4, 2013 at 12:55 am

      Thank you, Valerie!
      I have learned to cross-stitch many, many years ago from my grandmother, a firm believer in the saying “Idle hands do Devil’s work”… lol… It’s a craft that I’ve found to be soothing and relaxing to me – more so than anything else… I hope you give it a go 🙂
      As for my ankle, it kept me from going to work tonight; it’s still badly swollen, but at least I can walk on it more than 20ft…

       
      • Valerie

        February 4, 2013 at 7:08 am

        Your grandmother was very wise! I am definitely going to learn. I can see myself enjoying it like I enjoy crocheting. Once you really learn it, it becomes relaxing – love that! 🙂
        Aww, I’m really sorry about your ankle! 😦

         
  2. Valerie

    February 3, 2013 at 9:20 pm

    I am in Georgia so I know exactly what you’re talking about with the crazy weather!!
    Your card is breathtaking – I really do love it! I’d hang it on my wall! lol
    Oh, and I hope your ankle feels better. :/

     

Leave a Reply

 
