RSS

Stamping 411 Sketch Challenge 209

26 Jun

   With relatively little free time on my hands due to working six days a week, I have to choose “wisely” which challenges to work on each weekend. It seems that “Stamping 411“‘s challenges do speak to my perpetually tired brain (or maybe are just using easy words so I could understand… lol).

   I chose this week’s SSC 209 and one of my seemingly favorite stamp sets (Sail Away) and DSP (Nautical Expedition). The main image has been double stamped and pop-up on a seondary stamped panel, using 3D dimensionals. The panel behind it is only a bit larger – I have used Martha Stewart’s Circle Cutter (until I get myself round punches in all sizes imaginable…). However, in my trying to get the cutting blade in, I cut a gash deep into my thumb… I thought it won’t be a problem, but it kept on bleeding til I put Neosporin and a heavy Bandaid on it. Teaches me not to read my directions…

   I have used the sanding block from the Distressing Essentials to give the DSP and cardstock a weathered, distressed look and used some Craft Whisper White ink to soften the edges just a smidge… I hope you enjoy my latest card and drop me a note, if you care to… Enjoy your weekend – or the bit that’s left of it 😉

Supplies used are Stampin’ Up, unless otherwise noted: Stamps Sail Away #123013, Hello, you #117118; DSP Nautical Expedition #122343; Cardstock Not Quite Navy #119933, Basic Grey #119923, Cherry Cobbler #119690, Whisper White 100730; Ink Basic Grey 109120; Stampin’ Write Markers Cherry Cobbler & Early Expresso; 3D dimensionals;  Distressing Essentials #118762; Sakura Stardust pen.

 

Tags: , , , , ,

10 responses to “Stamping 411 Sketch Challenge 209

  1. Kristine Myra McIntosh

    July 2, 2011 at 5:58 am

    Love your card. Congratulations on being selected for this weeks Stampers Showcase.

     
  2. Dianna

    June 29, 2011 at 4:13 pm

    I really like the sincere sentiment card. Both cards are beautiful but that one has such a personal and calm feel to it that it really appeals to me. Your work, as always, is fantastic.

     
  3. Tiffany Bauer

    June 29, 2011 at 1:42 pm

    I just love this card!! That sailboat is breathtaking!! Thanks for finding the time to play along with us!!

     
  4. Patti Chesky

    June 29, 2011 at 12:03 pm

    Wow! The popped up sailboat looks magnificent!

     
  5. Connie Babbert

    June 28, 2011 at 9:16 pm

    Love how you popped up the sailboat…great card! Love it!

     
  6. donnathames

    June 26, 2011 at 11:46 pm

    I love your card. I love this stamp. Thanks for another fresh approach. I use the Coluzzle swivel knife for some circles and ovals, which is a pretty safe method when used with the templates. Stampin Up had them on clearance in the Spring, I think the company went out of business. Bought a new one so I would have a sharp blade.

     
  7. Lee

    June 26, 2011 at 10:16 pm

    WOW!!! Simply Fabulous!

     
  8. Jen Mitchell

    June 26, 2011 at 8:26 pm

    This is a wonderful card! I know what you mean about working and trying to find to stamp. It’s hard to balance the two, but you’ve found time to make a real winner here!

     
  9. Selene

    June 26, 2011 at 5:35 pm

    Well, I’m sorry that you’re tired.. You’d never know by looking at your artwork. It’s simply stunning! Thanks for sharing your talents with us over on stamping 411. (((hugs))

     
  10. Gretchen Barron

    June 26, 2011 at 11:16 am

    nice job — love the nautical look and the way the sailboat just barely extends out of the circle! Fabulous! Thanks so much for playing along this week at Stamping 411! Blessings, Gretchen

     

Leave a comment